Author Topic: Translations on Transifex  (Read 13612 times)

Dayman

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2013, 02:16:31 PM »
I can definitely say that pootle doesn't trim spaces and highlights 'em. https://www.dropbox.com/s/3fpycr6g0k2pm08/pootle_demo.png

Unfortunately this is an old version. I'll try to set up the latest one on my router for a closer look.
Building x86_64 stuff on Windows due to Gentoo syndrome.

Jabber: [email protected]
Skype: x.dayman
Irc #[email protected]: Dayman

sledgehammer_999

  • qBittorrent maintainer
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2398
  • Karma: +148/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #16 on: August 07, 2013, 03:16:49 PM »
PS: Sorry I didn't report the bug yet. I am busy these days. If you find time, report it and link it here.

Dayman

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #17 on: August 07, 2013, 03:29:31 PM »
PS: Sorry I didn't report the bug yet. I am busy these days. If you find time, report it and link it here.

By the way, are there any plugins in admin section (if there is one) on trasifex?
Building x86_64 stuff on Windows due to Gentoo syndrome.

Jabber: [email protected]
Skype: x.dayman
Irc #[email protected]: Dayman

sledgehammer_999

  • qBittorrent maintainer
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2398
  • Karma: +148/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #18 on: August 07, 2013, 08:48:25 PM »
PS: Sorry I didn't report the bug yet. I am busy these days. If you find time, report it and link it here.

By the way, are there any plugins in admin section (if there is one) on trasifex?

Nope.

By the way, after doing some testing on the online platform:
1. The downloaded .ts file for a locale preserves the spaces in the source strings.
2. If one inputs a leading/trailing space it is also preserved in the .ts file
3. The problem seems to be that the online editor doesn't highlight(or indicate) these leading/trailing spaces.

Dayman, am I correct?

What I propose:
1. Make a bug report for the online editor
2. Make an announcement in the project that will tell the translators not to use the online editor.

Dayman

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2013, 08:57:14 PM »
PS: Sorry I didn't report the bug yet. I am busy these days. If you find time, report it and link it here.

By the way, are there any plugins in admin section (if there is one) on trasifex?

Nope.

That sucks. That will make two bugreports: one for not trimming spaces and one for highlighting.

By the way, after doing some testing on the online platform:
1. The downloaded .ts file for a locale preserves the spaces in the source strings.
2. If one inputs a leading/trailing space it is also preserved in the .ts file
3. The problem seems to be that the online editor doesn't highlight(or indicate) these leading/trailing spaces.

Dayman, am I correct?
That's half the problem, editor trims leading and trailing spaces.

By the way, after doing some testing on the online platform:
1. The downloaded .ts file for a locale preserves the spaces in the source strings.
2. If one inputs a leading/trailing space it is also preserved in the .ts file
3. The problem seems to be that the online editor doesn't highlight(or indicate) these leading/trailing spaces.

Dayman, am I correct?

What I propose:
1. Make a bug report for the online editor
2. Make an announcement in the project that will tell the translators not to use the online editor.

I'll ask at http://support.transifex.com/ first, 'cause I'm not sure if they run unmodified github version or perhaps an older one.

As a temporal solution we can remove spaces out of tr(). https://github.com/Gelmir/qBittorrent/commit/ca13f9670d4791a006c8d9de16952e35b705b7e5
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 09:01:34 PM by Dayman »
Building x86_64 stuff on Windows due to Gentoo syndrome.

Jabber: [email protected]
Skype: x.dayman
Irc #[email protected]: Dayman

sledgehammer_999

  • qBittorrent maintainer
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2398
  • Karma: +148/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2013, 09:08:40 PM »
PS: Sorry I didn't report the bug yet. I am busy these days. If you find time, report it and link it here.

By the way, are there any plugins in admin section (if there is one) on trasifex?

Nope.

That sucks. That will make two bugreports: one for not trimming spaces and one for highlighting.

By the way, after doing some testing on the online platform:
1. The downloaded .ts file for a locale preserves the spaces in the source strings.
2. If one inputs a leading/trailing space it is also preserved in the .ts file
3. The problem seems to be that the online editor doesn't highlight(or indicate) these leading/trailing spaces.

Dayman, am I correct?
That's half the problem, editor trims leading and trailing spaces.

By the way, after doing some testing on the online platform:
1. The downloaded .ts file for a locale preserves the spaces in the source strings.
2. If one inputs a leading/trailing space it is also preserved in the .ts file
3. The problem seems to be that the online editor doesn't highlight(or indicate) these leading/trailing spaces.

Dayman, am I correct?

What I propose:
1. Make a bug report for the online editor
2. Make an announcement in the project that will tell the translators not to use the online editor.

I'll ask at http://support.transifex.com/ first, 'cause I'm not sure if they run unmodified github version or perhaps an older one.

As a temporal solution we can remove spaces out of tr(). https://github.com/Gelmir/qBittorrent/commit/ca13f9670d4791a006c8d9de16952e35b705b7e5

Only those strings are affected? I thought there were many more. Anyway, make a placeholder pull request. If we need to do a release and there isn't a fix in Transifex, I might merge it.

Peter

  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #21 on: December 14, 2013, 01:56:16 AM »
I promised to work on the translations, and I didn't forget.
How are things looking on this front? Did they reply? How do we translate at the moment?
- qBittorrent team - server and forum administrator.
- Hungarian translation reviewer/moderator (+ translator).

Join the official qBittorrent Discord!
https://discord.gg/ma66Vv4

soldatovaua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #22 on: December 19, 2015, 07:58:56 PM »
The latest version of qBittorrent 3.3.1 Not all places have translated into another language (eg Russian).
I updated the translation into Russian in Transifex, I download it from the site, save it in a format .qm using Qt Linguist.
However qBittorrent does not see the corrected translation.
When do you plan to include a corrected translation of the new version of qBittorrent?
Thank you in advance!

Peter

  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #23 on: December 19, 2015, 08:52:28 PM »
If there is an Administrator on the Transifex page for Russian, he will have to approve your contributions.
(I also take some time to approve the new Hungarian strings .. because most of the times I have to sit there for hours to filter/fix them.)
- qBittorrent team - server and forum administrator.
- Hungarian translation reviewer/moderator (+ translator).

Join the official qBittorrent Discord!
https://discord.gg/ma66Vv4

adriantc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2016, 01:16:31 PM »
Does anyone still approve joining requests on Transifex? My language (Romanian) is fairly complete, but I would like to finish it and correct a few things. Thanks!

OK. I have been accepted as a review, however I cannot edit some fields. I get the following error:

    Error: The resource of this source string is not accepting translations.

Which is weird because I see other languages are 100% ready.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2016, 06:03:37 AM by adriantc »

fusk

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #25 on: July 20, 2017, 02:53:33 AM »
sledgehammer_999
Would it be possible to update the about/translators list under the Danish section? I'm just thinking there's one guy mentioned that i have never seen on transifex, might be from before that as i remember that when i joined the team 3 years & 4 months ago i was the only member (besides sledgehammer who had done some google translations) and was so for a long, long time. Just thought that some of the people who have worked on it for the past year might appreciate being mentioned in the translator section.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2017, 01:53:14 PM by fusk »

GrgoPitic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Translations on Transifex
« Reply #26 on: August 15, 2018, 08:49:07 AM »
Hello,
I have been trying to translate Slovak for a long time, but no one has ever added me. If you can ask me to add to the Slovak language as no one translates anymore and I would like to translate it and we have more to translate it. Thanks in advance for adding.