Author Topic: Retrieving Metadata  (Read 16232 times)

Joss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Retrieving Metadata
« on: November 29, 2014, 03:27:03 PM »
Hi.

I was using qb 3.1.9 and started to have an issue with magnet links. When I clicked on a link in Pirate Bay (for example) the retrieving metadata would stay there forever. If I clicked ok the download wouldn't start (see snapshot). Links from YIFY won't work as well. Links from TVChaos would work normally.
I uninstalled and installed 3.1.11 but the problem persists.
I installed Utorrent and it works fine with all sites/links.

A week ago I reinstalled the OS using a Macrium Reflect image where qb was (among other programs). I don't know if that is significant.

Thanks.

ciaobaby

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: +98/-25
  • No quarter asked... No quarter given.
    • View Profile
    • WMTeu
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2014, 03:56:04 PM »
If there are no connect-able peers to download the metadata from ... it never will.

Try waiting for the metadata to load BEFORE clicking [ OK ]
Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html

Joss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2014, 04:02:13 PM »
If there are no connect-able peers to download the metadata from ... it never will.
There are dozens of peers, Utorrent finds them almost instantly.

Try waiting for the metadata to load BEFORE clicking [ OK ]
It just stays there forever.


I also checked in the router that qb's port is forwarded.

gwarser

  • Guest
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2014, 04:48:50 PM »
Enable DHT

Joss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2014, 05:24:02 PM »
Enable DHT

humm... it works, but I don't want DHT enabled.
Besides, it shouldn't be needed. Utorrent works without it, and qb used to as well.

Is there a workaround for this?

Nemo

  • qBittorrent Forum
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1517
  • Karma: +94/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2014, 06:05:05 PM »
Enable DHT, get metadata, disable DHT? If it isn't working otherwise.

Before you add the magnet the metadata is being downloaded first at the torrent add dialog as far I know. Try re-adding the magnet link if possible.





This is a YIFY torrent as well.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2014, 06:12:39 PM by Nemo »
Forum Rules and Guidelines

Forum Admin.
Dutch & Turkish Translator.




ciaobaby

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: +98/-25
  • No quarter asked... No quarter given.
    • View Profile
    • WMTeu
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2014, 06:29:02 PM »

Try waiting for the metadata to load BEFORE clicking [ OK ]
It just stays there forever.
[/quote]
And how long is "forever"???  As there was only six minutes between the posts asking to see how long it does take and you saying 'forever'.

Quote
humm... it works, but I don't want DHT enabled.
Why on earth not???????

Given that it remove the 'problem'

Quote
. Utorrent works without it, and qb used to as well.
That is because uTorrent/BitTorrent are NOT truly "trackerless", they use a 'hidden' tracker to kick start supposedly 'trackerless' torrents.

Other clients use DHT instead of 'cheating'.


Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html

Joss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2014, 06:42:18 PM »
Enable DHT, get metadata, disable DHT? If it isn't working otherwise.
That's a solution but it's not elegant.

Before you add the magnet the metadata is being downloaded first at the torrent add dialog as far I know.
Same here, that's where it gets stuck.

Joss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2014, 06:50:02 PM »
And how long is "forever"???  As there was only six minutes between the posts asking to see how long it does take and you saying 'forever'.
I've been with this issue for the last three days. Forever is 5 hours.

Why on earth not???????

Given that it remove the 'problem'
It has to do with a private tracker I mostly use.

Nemo

  • qBittorrent Forum
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1517
  • Karma: +94/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2014, 07:19:03 PM »
If the torrent is private flagged DHT/LSD/PEX is automaticly being disabled, even if you have enabled DHT.
Forum Rules and Guidelines

Forum Admin.
Dutch & Turkish Translator.




ciaobaby

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: +98/-25
  • No quarter asked... No quarter given.
    • View Profile
    • WMTeu
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2014, 08:04:54 PM »
Quote
It has to do with a private tracker I mostly use
Say no more, private tracker operators have this quaint idea that DHT somehow allows "their" torrents 'escape' into the wild.
Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html

Joss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2014, 08:54:50 PM »
If the torrent is private flagged DHT/LSD/PEX is automaticly being disabled, even if you have enabled DHT.
Say no more, private tracker operators have this quaint idea that DHT somehow allows "their" torrents 'escape' into the wild.

OK, I'll disable DHT and see how it goes.
Thanks to all for your help and explanations.

Nemo

  • qBittorrent Forum
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1517
  • Karma: +94/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2014, 09:19:41 PM »
If there is something we can help with let us know :).
Forum Rules and Guidelines

Forum Admin.
Dutch & Turkish Translator.




sledgehammer_999

  • qBittorrent maintainer
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2406
  • Karma: +151/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2014, 11:13:35 PM »
Even if someone leaves the dialog open it is the same thing as adding it to the transfer list. Nothing special is done.
At the first picture it seems that the first tracker doesn't return any peers. You should enable "always announce to all trackers" from the advanced settings.

Joss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrieving Metadata
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2014, 11:48:57 PM »
Even if someone leaves the dialog open it is the same thing as adding it to the transfer list. Nothing special is done.
At the first picture it seems that the first tracker doesn't return any peers. You should enable "always announce to all trackers" from the advanced settings.

Hurrah!
It worked (even with DHT disabled). Thank you.

Thanks again to everyone  :)
« Last Edit: November 30, 2014, 12:01:52 AM by Joss »