Author Topic: Failed to load the torrent: torrent file is not a dictionary  (Read 2588 times)

cookymunster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Failed to load the torrent: torrent file is not a dictionary
« on: September 08, 2015, 12:21:52 PM »
Hi

I have multiple search engines installed that are enabled and up to date. "TorrentReactor" is the only one that comes up with "Failed to load the torrent: torrent file is not a dictionary"

Over all I am now getting very poor search results and "TorrentReactor" is the only one that is giving results but failing to load torrents.

I have a Plusnet router through a BT OpenReach modem for 76mb Fibre.


cookymunster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to load the torrent: torrent file is not a dictionary
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 01:19:51 PM »
OK so I tried a Socks 5 Proxy from http://www.socks-proxy.net/ and it seems to have worked.

BUT... Only TorrentReactor engine is giving search results, no other engine is contributing to my searches.

ciaobaby

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: +98/-25
  • No quarter asked... No quarter given.
    • View Profile
    • WMTeu
Re: Failed to load the torrent: torrent file is not a dictionary
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2015, 01:27:50 PM »
Is your ISP one that has complied with the various court orders to block access to certain named torrent indexing sites?
Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html

cookymunster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to load the torrent: torrent file is not a dictionary
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2015, 04:16:30 PM »
Hi, Yes they must have, is there a way of altering the .py file to include proxy sites?

Thanks

ciaobaby

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: +98/-25
  • No quarter asked... No quarter given.
    • View Profile
    • WMTeu
Re: Failed to load the torrent: torrent file is not a dictionary
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2015, 07:29:17 PM »
Nope, the proxy defined in the client is for libtorrent to use, and as libtorrent only  'speaks' bittorrent it can't 'talk' to search engines.



Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html

ciaobaby

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: +98/-25
  • No quarter asked... No quarter given.
    • View Profile
    • WMTeu
Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html