Author Topic: Everything is stalling now it seems?  (Read 493 times)

Hotkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Everything is stalling now it seems?
« on: May 15, 2017, 02:35:23 pm »
Had been using for last couple of years with no issues. Now al of a sudden nothing seems to download. Some read "downloading" still but never any progress.  Others just switch to "stalled".

I'm at a total loss as to what to fix. Hoping for some help please!

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +57/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2017, 11:18:24 pm »
1.VPN or proxy being used?

2.qBT trying to use the wrong network interface?

3.Firewall win the way (from router, OS, antivirus, or antimalware)?

4.qBT settings overloading networking somewhere (too-high max connections or half-open connections)?

5.File/folder permissions for qBT get screwed up somehow?

6.Your ISP turn HOSTILE to BitTorrent?

Hotkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2017, 12:48:47 am »
1.VPN or proxy being used?
No.

2.qBT trying to use the wrong network interface?
Not sure what this means?

3.Firewall win the way (from router, OS, antivirus, or antimalware)?
No.

4.qBT settings overloading networking somewhere (too-high max connections or half-open connections)?
How do I tell?

5.File/folder permissions for qBT get screwed up somehow?
How do I tell?

6.Your ISP turn HOSTILE to BitTorrent?
No. I can BT from another PC on same LAN and same ISP.

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +57/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2017, 03:10:11 am »
2.Advanced Settings for qBitTorrent has Network Interface and Optional IP Address to bind to.

4.What's your settings? Is that computer or are other computers slowed while qBT is running-but-stalled?

5.I don't know, I don't have a MAC...I've just heard its very picky about permissions.

Hotkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2017, 11:26:22 pm »
2.Advanced Settings for qBitTorrent has Network Interface and Optional IP Address to bind to.
*** Both items list Any/All interface/addresses

4.What's your settings? Is that computer or are other computers slowed while qBT is running-but-stalled?
*** I've never changed them - and it worked but here they are:
*** Global max = 800
*** Max number = 300
*** Global max upload slot = 8
*** Max number of upload slots = 4

5.I don't know, I don't have a MAC...I've just heard its very picky about permissions.
*** Checked permissions (again - nothing seems changed!). My account has read/write to the listed drive.

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +57/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2017, 02:10:24 am »
1.No errors on the torrents when qBT starts? (Enable qBT's logging and check there too!)

2.Half open connections (in advanced settings) limited to 10 or less?

3.Not a crazy number of trackers on each torrent (like 10+) and the trackers are actually WORKING?

4.DHT alive/dead/disabled?

Hotkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2017, 06:18:56 pm »
1.No errors on the torrents when qBT starts? (Enable qBT's logging and check there too!)
*** Not that I see.

2.Half open connections (in advanced settings) limited to 10 or less?
*** It was 50. I changed to 10. Restarted, and my most recent add started downloading.

3.Not a crazy number of trackers on each torrent (like 10+) and the trackers are actually WORKING?
*** They are not working! Why would that be how do I fix?

4.DHT alive/dead/disabled?
*** Disabled on all except the 1 I mentioned about that is downloading now. Its trackers are not working but DHT is.

So I just added a new torrent from a newly posted file and immediately went to STALLED status......no clue why.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2017, 06:35:05 pm by Hotkey »

Hotkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2017, 07:14:57 pm »
And - another interesting thing - after QBT is running for 20-30 minutes, all of the line items on each of the status listings are blank!  I can read a number to the right of the line items - for example DOWNLOADING (2) SEEDING (212) etc.  But the detail screen to the right is blank for all statuses!

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +57/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2017, 11:27:07 pm »
Are the columns simply too large or scrolled off the screen?
(...because it's starting to sound like your install of qBitTorrent is corrupted!)

Have you checked your drives for problems/damage?

Hotkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2017, 12:03:11 am »
Are the columns simply too large or scrolled off the screen?
(...because it's starting to sound like your install of qBitTorrent is corrupted!)

Have you checked your drives for problems/damage?

Not large - not scrolled - just "poof"! LOL

Drives are fine via all other apps. 

Maybe I'll uninstall - reboot - and reinstall.  I want to make sure that none of the settings - remnants from 1st install exist tho I would think.

susacpa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2017, 10:52:15 am »
I have similar symptoms, although I don’t see outright stalled messages.

Torrents start fine and eventually complete, but the d/l speed remains very low (generally <200 kB/s). If I open the exact same magnet link at the same time in utorrent, the d/l is fine (generally >1.5 MB/s).

Connecting through VPN, interface locked to utun in advanced. Flipping upnp, utp on and off seems to have no effect.

This started happening all of a sudden some time ago, not related to a version change (although I tried updating and that didn’t help either).


Edit: additional symptom: it feels like my network is slower overall when using qbittorrent, as though it was somehow saturating or thrashing either the machine or the lan?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2017, 10:57:42 am by susacpa »

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: +57/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Everything is stalling now it seems?
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2017, 04:46:27 pm »
Do you have qBitTorrent set to attempt to make unlimited connections or half open connections at once?
That can hammer a network hard if you have enough busy torrents and can result in slow speeds.

Magnet links have to download .torrent files by first finding a peer or seed that HAS the .torrent file. DHT is used to find peers/seeds which requires UDP packets which may not be working reliably/correctly through the VPN.