Author Topic: Peers dont download from me always (And slow speeds)  (Read 629 times)

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 921
  • Karma: +60/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Peers dont download from me always (And slow speeds)
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2017, 05:58:48 am »
It's hard to upload when there's 10+ very fast seeds per peer, if there's any peers at all!
Even if the peer connects to every seed, the seeds flood out its connection's max download bandwidth.

Anders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Peers dont download from me always (And slow speeds)
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2017, 12:51:10 pm »
How is my maxspeed reported? I should win over most people with my 1 gigabit fiber?

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 921
  • Karma: +60/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Peers dont download from me always (And slow speeds)
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2017, 12:17:09 am »
Your maxspeed isn't reported to other peers/seeds.

A downloading Peer's conditions are more like what happens when 10 people try to download lots of stuff while sharing a single, slow internet connection.

Anders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Peers dont download from me always (And slow speeds)
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2017, 06:47:52 pm »
I have added some RSS feeds to qbittorrent I hope if im fast on the ball I can get some good upload speeds

Anders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Peers dont download from me always (And slow speeds)
« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2017, 05:47:40 pm »
Just got around 21 Mib/s upload so thats nice. :D


Nemo

  • qBittorrent Forum
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: +89/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Peers dont download from me always (And slow speeds)
« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2017, 11:45:39 pm »
It's hard to upload when there's 10+ very fast seeds per peer, if there's any peers at all!
Even if the peer connects to every seed, the seeds flood out its connection's max download bandwidth.

Agree 100%, I do experience this also from time to time.

Do you archieve those speeds with the default cache settings, or did you changed something? Im still playing around with the new cache settings that have been introduced with v4 release and what the effects are. Default seems working fine, I do see an increased ram usage. Changing it to 0 (disabled) and OS cache off seems hang around the normal numbers like v3.3.16 that was between 50-70MB.

At the moment with default settings and downloading at approx. +-7MiB/s its using 140MB ram.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2017, 01:34:10 am by Nemo »
Forum Rules and Guidelines

Forum Admin.
Dutch & Turkish Translator.