Author Topic: Why doesn't "New update available" use ... bittorrent?  (Read 280 times)

qbittar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Why doesn't "New update available" use ... bittorrent?
« on: May 06, 2018, 11:26:33 PM »
When a new version of qBittorrent is available, I get a "qBittorrent Update Available" popup window.  If I click "Yes" to update the new version, I am sent to a web site to from which to download.

Why doesn't qBittorrent download a torrent or use a magnet link to fetch the new version via bittorrent?

Peter

  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Why doesn't "New update available" use ... bittorrent?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2018, 01:18:39 AM »
Well, because FOSSHUB is kind enough to provide the direct download / bandwidth. Torrent would make sense if we had to host our own downloads and we had no bandwidth.
- qBittorrent team - server and forum administrator.
- Hungarian translation reviewer/moderator (+ translator).

Join the official qBittorrent Discord!
https://discord.gg/ma66Vv4

Nemo

  • qBittorrent Forum
  • Administrator
  • Forum addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1466
  • Karma: +90/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why doesn't "New update available" use ... bittorrent?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2018, 12:09:29 AM »
We tried it once in the past (only mods/admins/devs) but wasn't that succesful if I remember correctly.

But I think it could work if there are enough seeders.
Forum Rules and Guidelines

Forum Admin.
Dutch & Turkish Translator.