Author Topic: Connection status no direct connection  (Read 2077 times)

zippityzoppity

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Connection status no direct connection
« on: June 08, 2019, 03:49:07 am »
Hi There. I'm sure I've come across some kind of answer to this but I haven't been able to figure anything out. Qbittorrent was working fine up until about a week ago. I didn't make any changes, do anything new, etc. Just stopped working. I've been going through everything I can think of to get it back up and running. Changing connection amounts, going to tcp only, changing the number of half connections, etc. Nothing has worked. The first possible bit of progress I've found is a forum with the suggestion to see if there is a green plug in the bottom of the program. I have a yellow icon, and when I hover it says there is no direct connection.

Again, I have not made any changes up to this point that I'm aware of. I don't have a third party firewall, and I've tried turning windows firewall off to no avail. But I have not been able to figure out anything that will work.

Let me know what info you need from me to help and I will try to get it. I know just enough to be dangerous so might need a little hand holding, and I appreciate any help you are willing to give. Thanks!

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 1467
  • Karma: +93/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connection status no direct connection
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2019, 07:41:57 am »
Maybe your ISP has suddenly changed their torrent policies? ...to blocking them!

zippityzoppity

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connection status no direct connection
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2019, 07:10:15 pm »
Shouldn't that be negated by going through a vpn?

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 1467
  • Karma: +93/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connection status no direct connection
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2019, 09:43:34 pm »
Probably yes, but an overactive DPI blocking system can cripple VPNs as well.

Something to try is backing up all of qBitTorrent's settings and .torrent files and reinstalling qBitTorrent with fresh/new settings.
https://github.com/qbittorrent/qBittorrent/wiki/Frequently-Asked-Questions#Where_does_qBittorrent_save_its_settings
https://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,2826.msg13292/topicseen.html#msg13292      Backup qBT settings!

Initially, check with just 1 or 2 new torrents -- if that works, add all your torrents back.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2019, 09:46:18 pm by Switeck »