Author Topic: How to migrate from uTorrent to qBittorent on iMac?  (Read 217 times)

MikeFL

• View Profile
How to migrate from uTorrent to qBittorent on iMac?
« on: August 07, 2019, 05:54:20 pm »
With the coming of Mac Catalina, I'm on borrowed time to get rid of uTorrent. I have spent the past two days looking for a resource or information to migrate my files. I'm fairly new to Mac, and made a feeble attempt yesterday to go it alone. Clicking on 'add torrents' opened a window to my existing torrents, but a limited amount of them, the greater portion was grayed out, about 550. I'm really at a loss to make this happen and running out of time. qBittorrent seems the only real viable option. I was naive enough to think all I had to do was install, point, change a few settings and I'd be in business. Not the case. I'd very much appreciate some help. Thank you.

Fuga

• View Profile
Re: How to migrate from uTorrent to qBittorent on iMac?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2019, 03:31:12 am »
uTorrent Mac will be 64 bit. In time for Catalina?

https://forum.utorrent.com/topic/108739-existing-mac-version/

MountainInside

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2019, 10:25:02 am »
I used this tool: https://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,5889.0.html

• You'll need a windows machine, bootcamp or vm.
    • Install QBittorrent in your mac, run it once,quit
    • Install QBittorrent in windows, run it once, quit
    • quit from utorrent
    • Move uTorrent  folder from Mac (~/Library/Application Support/uTorrent) to Windows (%AppData%\uTorrent) (Keep a backup copy in safe place)
    • Run the tool
    • DON'T run any torrent client in windows after the migration
    • Move QBittorrent folder from windows (%localappdata%\QBittorrent) to Mac (~/Library/Application Support/QBittorrent)
    • Some files may need to be recheck, from 4000 files I had only 150 files that needed to be rechecked.
    • Good Luck.

Edit: The tool is updated to support MacOS