Author Topic: CPU USAGE  (Read 129 times)

mtkvnela

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
CPU USAGE
« on: September 04, 2019, 04:55:11 pm »
i have 4.1.7 installed and yesterday it started to use 100% of cpu i have i7-8700K that shouldn't be happening …

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 1500
  • Karma: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CPU USAGE
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2019, 06:04:45 pm »
Is qbittorrent.exe using most of the cpu, or is the cpu simply overloaded while running qBitTorrent?

Bad drivers or poorly-written antivirus software may have high cpu usage only when qBitTorrent is running.

mtkvnela

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CPU USAGE
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2019, 09:33:38 pm »
umm its mac… only qbittorent has high cpu load nothing esle

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 1500
  • Karma: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CPU USAGE
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2019, 12:10:28 am »
It could still be a networking driver issue...but antivirus issues are probably ruled out.

Does any other BitTorrent client (like Transmission on Mac) also show high CPU issues?

mtkvnela

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CPU USAGE
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2019, 06:11:34 am »
i only use this one and this one had no problems either for years. mac networking drivers doesn't change by itself and i certainly haven't touched it

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 1500
  • Karma: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CPU USAGE
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2019, 11:41:13 pm »
Back up qBT's settings and .torrent files and reinstall fresh.

If that works, try with just your .torrent files and slowly change qBT's settings till it messes up again...that way maybe the programmers can know what to fix.

mtkvnela

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CPU USAGE
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2019, 04:19:59 pm »
i haven't touched it settings for an year

Switeck

  • Forum addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 1500
  • Karma: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CPU USAGE
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2019, 01:17:04 am »
And windows or a virus/trojan/malware/random power glitch could've corrupted them slightly causing these problems even if you haven't touched the settings.

...That's assuming the cause isn't a bug in qBitTorrent!
If it is a bug, all the more reason to back up the settings and check!