New developer introduction

magao

New developer introduction

Post by magao »

I'm a developer by craft and have been professionally for over 20 years. I've contributed haphazardly to open source projects over that time, but I avoid making too large a committment as I find that I prefer to use my non-work time for non-programming tasks these days. So I'm only intending to scratch my own itches, but anything I do implement I will be submitting as pull requests (eventually).

I'm a novice to Qt, and it's been 10+ years since I've used C++, but I've finally got around to implementing a number of changes that have been preventing me from moving from uTorrent. My intention is to find and fix existing issues that I feel give a negative experience (and raise new issues as appropriate).

A quick overview of the changes I've been implementing over the last couple of weekends:

1. UI responsiveness, in particular startup and RSS-related.

There are a lot of issues on GitHub that basically boil down to "qBittorrent becomes unresponsive" or "qBittorrent takes a long time when started until it's usable". I've found a number of cases where lots of processing occurs without allowing the UI to refresh e.g. matching RSS and downloading items.

Whilst I haven't been successful in implementing proper multi-threading (remember - Qt novice), what I have been able to do is improve responsiveness by breaking up large chunks of processing into smaller chunks and allowing the event loop to progress. For example, in the RSS downloader building the tree of matching entries is now done in 250ms chunks and will be interrupted by selecting a different rule or changing the properties of the rule. I also delay a second after changing a property before starting processing (so it doesn't immediately start while typing in the rule properties).

2. Other RSS downloader improvements:

a. Enabling/disabling a rule will take effect even if the rule isn't selected in the list;