QBT wants to recheck all my torrent data after disk swap. NO!

Windows specific questions, problems.
Post Reply
linocajo
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:07 pm

QBT wants to recheck all my torrent data after disk swap. NO!

Post by linocajo »

Hi,

I swapped my current HDD to a bigger one:
1. turned off QBT (checked with task manager), I use version 4.3.1
2. I copied all files (10 TB) to the new disk and ran a hash check to be sure the data was correctly transferred.
3. I removed the old disk and set the correct drive letter (D:) to the new disk
4. I open QBT and all torrent that were on the D drive now have this message:
Errored: A device which does not exist was specified
I forced a re-check in QBT on about 40 randomly-picked torrents and everything was successful. But it took 4 days to recheck them and I still have 95% of my torrents in error.

It could take weeks before all torrents are checked.

my data is fine

Is there something I can do to force QBT to accept my files as correct?
I tried to put them on pause, resume etc. it will never to queue or seeding. it either does nothing or check the data.

Maybe edit a some QBT files, settings...
Splat
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:36 am

Re: QBT wants to recheck all my torrent data after disk swap. NO!

Post by Splat »

I can't remember how I got around this. Try "Force Resume"maybe on each torrent in qB?
linocajo
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:07 pm

Re: QBT wants to recheck all my torrent data after disk swap. NO!

Post by linocajo »

Unfortunately, "force resume" does the same as resume, QBT just slowly rechecks the torrent and then goes in Force seeding mode

I hope someone can find a way to skip that check. QBT could just check the files exist and the file size is correct.
sweetdude
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 2:46 pm

Re: QBT wants to recheck all my torrent data after disk swap. NO!

Post by sweetdude »

In the current "add torrent screen" you can choose to skip the hash check (tick box just below start torrent)
this prevents a complete re-check of every file.

However this checkbox cannot be enabled by default unfortunately
Post Reply