VPN / TAP Problem.

Windows specific questions, problems.
Post Reply
HomeDope
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:29 pm

VPN / TAP Problem.

Post by HomeDope »

Hi all.

I just installed PIA VPN and assigned QBittorrent to use PIA TAP.
Well the problem is that Qbit starts before PIA so the TAP is inactive.

Is there some settings to force Qbittorrent to check TAP connection like every 10 sec? and try to get Peers again.

Thanks all!

EDIT: Torrents start working again if I restart QBit
Last edited by HomeDope on Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ciaobaby
Forum addict
Forum addict
Posts: 2771
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: VPN / TAP Problem.

Post by ciaobaby »

Is there some settings to force Qbittorrent to check TAP connection like every 10 sec?
No simply because doing that would stop anything else happening.

What version?
What OS?
Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html
HomeDope
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: VPN / TAP Problem.

Post by HomeDope »

ciaobaby wrote:
Is there some settings to force Qbittorrent to check TAP connection like every 10 sec?
No simply because doing that would stop anything else happening.

What version?
What OS?
Qbittorrent 3.3.3 and OS Win 8.1

Hmm... I could ofc create a Powershell script to check if TAP is alive and after that launh qBit. :/
User avatar
ciaobaby
Forum addict
Forum addict
Posts: 2771
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: VPN / TAP Problem.

Post by ciaobaby »

Have you got qbt set to listen on "Any" interface or is it bound to the VPN?
Smarter than the av-er-age bear, Boo Boo.

http://qbforums.shiki.hu/index.php/topic,3084.0.html
HomeDope
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: VPN / TAP Problem.

Post by HomeDope »

Its bound to VPN
User avatar
KitKat
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:59 pm

Re: VPN / TAP Problem.

Post by KitKat »

[quote="HomeDope"]
Qbittorrent 3.3.3 and OS Win 8.1

Hmm... I could ofc create a Powershell script to check if TAP is alive and after that launh qBit. :/
[/quote]
You have qbittorent configured to start with windows, TAP is also configured to start with windows and Qbittorent starts first, thats the problem correct?

Not 100% sure HOW qbittorent tells windows it wants to run on startup (registry or task scheduler are likely as it doesnt install as a service)
If its task scheduler modify the task and add a delay to it.
If its registry related then disable qbittorents startup with windows feature then create a delayed task in task scheduler to run on user login that launches qbittorent.

No powershell scripts needed.
Should work as you've stated it works after restarting the client.

Have a nice day.

/e: if you dont have qbittorent set to startup with windows then im confused as to how this problem is occuring unless TAP takes a long time to initialize ;/
Last edited by KitKat on Tue Mar 29, 2016 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The following BBC is not allowed within your signature: html, img, php.
Post Reply