Hard disk where I stored all temp and complete torrents DIED. How can I resume?

Windows specific questions, problems.

Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
poldo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:19 pm

Hard disk where I stored all temp and complete torrents DIED. How can I resume?

Post by poldo » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:26 pm

I'm experimenting an annoying problem. A 3TB Seagate hard disk where I stored all temporary and complete torrents died. (there was a burning smell and now the hard disk is not recognized and it doesn't give any vital sign)
But qbit torrent is listing all those files in the INACTIVE and (less files) WITH ERRORS menus, so I thought it could be easy to put 'em again in the download queue, but no way! :-(
I receive an I/O ERROR message and I cannot tell qbit to do anything with those files. I also tried to copy the magnet link and then add 'em as magnets, but nothing happens.
Can you tell me how can I put 'em all in the download list to download 'again the files I lost?
Thank you very much in advance, cheers

Switeck
Forum addict
Forum addict
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:04 pm

Re: Hard disk where I stored all temp and complete torrents DIED. How can I resume?

Post by Switeck » Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:34 pm

There's 2 main ways to go about re-adding these torrents.

1.
Stop the errored-out torrents in qBT. (They should already be stopped by the error, but just double-check that's the case.)
Set the new, correct location for these torrents.
Do Force Recheck in qBT.
Restart torrents.

2.
Back up qBT's backup folder containing the .torrent files to make re-adding them easier. You may not know their correct names this way, but if you don't have many it won't matter.
Remove all the errored-out torrents in qBT.
THEN re-add them from magnet links or .torrent files (that you just backed up).

jslay
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:07 am

Re: Hard disk where I stored all temp and complete torrents DIED. How can I resume?

Post by jslay » Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:16 pm

First things first.

qBittorrent is looking for all the files in the old path.

If you have got the new drive installed, AND you have the data (doesn't sound likely in this case), it is easiest to setup the folder structure on the drive the exact same, and assign the old drive letter to the new drive. Once this is done, its best to verify your download locations as well in preferences, and make sure the locations listed are valid.

If you don't have the data (which is what it sounds like in your case), then simply redefining and verifying your download locations in preferences should suffice. Then you can restart the torrents and grab all the data again, assuming you have assigned the old drive letter to the new drive.

If you want to move the save location for the torrents themselves, you can check out a script that I wrote to do just that.

index.php/topic,4976.0.html

Post Reply