when VPN loses connection qBit keeps going/reconnects and then I get DMCA threat

Windows specific questions, problems.
scifi3dzoo

when VPN loses connection qBit keeps going/reconnects and then I get DMCA threat

Post by scifi3dzoo »

Comcast is going to cut me loose if this keeps happening too much.  I had it on all day too (Private Internet Access) and it disconnected after about 8 hrs.  Probably normal to drop a connection but how can I stop qBit from resuming downloads then I get in trouble with Comcast??
OpenSourcer

Re: when VPN loses connection qBit keeps going/reconnects and then I get DMCA threat

Post by OpenSourcer »

Well, I suppose it would be pointless to suggest that you not download things that will cause DMCA warnings...

I don't think qbittorrent (or any torrent program, for that matter) has the ability to detect a VPN failure and shut down.  I'm no expert though, so there could be a way I don't know of.
ItWasSooted

Re: when VPN loses connection qBit keeps going/reconnects and then I get DMCA threat

Post by ItWasSooted »

Advanced Options > Network Interface > Select the VPN interface and restart.

Qbittorrent will now only connect through that interface. If the VPN goes down, then Qbittorrent will drop all connections.
scifi3dzoo

Post by scifi3dzoo »

In qBit I don't see anything under interface that looks like my VPN.  I use Private Internet Access.  Just few diff ethernets and a loopback.  In case anybody else has it PIA has a killswitch feature but you have to turn it off and on everytime.
ItWasSooted

Post by ItWasSooted »

One of them is the VPN adapter.

Open Network and Sharing Centre > Change adapter settings (top left) > Right click the one that says TAP-Windows Adapter V9 and rename to VPN.

You'll now get a new entry named VPN in Qbittorrent. Select this one and restart.
scifi3dzoo

Post by scifi3dzoo »