Can I seed files that have been renamed and moved?

Windows specific questions, problems.
kiwichick888

Can I seed files that have been renamed and moved?

Post by kiwichick888 »

Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to downloading using torrents and I know this has been asked before, so I apologise if I've done the wrong thing by posting again but one thing I'm struggling to understand is if completed files can be renamed and moved (in that order) but still be seeded. I really want to seed back the files I download but I'm not keeping them in the folder they are downloaded to, they don't all get moved to the same folder, and pretty much everything gets renamed because a) the standard naming conventions are messy/inconsistent and b) some files aren't named correctly (wrong title/year/episode number). I've read a few posts online and some say it's possible by doing this, that and the other, and some say it's not possible at all. I would really appreciate some clarification on this and, if it is possible, what is the correct method (there seems to be conflicting advice regarding the method)? I'm using qBittorrent v4.40beta1 on a laptop running up-to-date Windows 10. Thanks :D
unseen19
Veteran
Veteran

Re: Can I seed files that have been renamed and moved?

Post by unseen19 »

Hi and welcome

Yes this is possible. You can rename file(s), folder(s), and move torrent to another location BUT all need to be done through the QBT interface. This is valid for any Bittorrent client. If you change anything at the filesystem level (explorer) it will be in error in QBT and no longer seed.

You have the option "Rename" and "Set location" when you right click a torrent. You can
-rename the displayed torrent name in QBT
-rename the effective file (select a torrent and click on "Content" section to see/rename real file name