Connections Limits Understanding (Urgent Help needed!!)

Windows specific questions, problems.
Rando839

Connections Limits Understanding (Urgent Help needed!!)

Post by Rando839 »

Hello everyone,

I'm new to downloading torrents and would like to seek help understanding how exactly Connections Limits work in detail (if possible)?

Global maximum # of connections: sets the maximum number of peers to connect to for all torrents
Maximum # of connections per torrent: sets the maximum number of peers to connect to for each torrent
Global maximum # of upload slots: sets the maximum number of upload slots (basically the number of peers you connect to) for all torrents
Maximum # of upload slots: sets the maximum of upload slots for each torrent

I know the above settings exist but I can't really tell the difference btw global and non-global.
How does each of them affects my download speed when I'm downloading a torrent?

Initially I set both global max # of connections & max # of connections per torrent to be the same value as I do not really know the difference (or at least how setting both to be of different values would make a difference in download speed).
And I thought that the more number of connections I have = faster download speed.

But when I tried increasing the values, sometimes the download speed doesn't increase at all and that baffles me.

So I would like to understand how exactly these work and affect my download speed.

Also, does the upload slots settings play a part in my download speed when I'm downloading?
If so, why? I know that tit-for-tat principle exists and I read somewhere that the more I upload, the faster download speed I have?? But I don't think I'm uploading anything while downloading right? (I would only start to upload once I have completed the download if my understanding is correct). So I don't really see how it'll affect my download speed.

A very lost person here, would greatly appreciate the help!!