All torrents "stall"

Windows specific questions, problems.
greg1296

All torrents "stall"

Post by greg1296 »

I am relatively new to torrents and my technical knowledge is minimal.  I recently installed qBittorent.  I have been trying to download torrents with no luck.  As soon as the download process begins, the status changes to "Stalled" and stays that way.  I am using Hotspot Shield as a VPN and my ISP is AT&T (California USA).  The downloads and uploads briefly worked when I had my Hotspot Shield accidentally in "unprotected" mode, but not sure why the VPN could be the issue (I used Hotspot shield before with utorrent before with no problem)

In the lower half of the qBittorent window, when I click on trackers for any torrent, the status of "tracker.publicbt.com" is "Working" but the status of all remaining trackers on the list are "Not contacted."  Can anyone help me out?  Thanks
zeomal

Re: All torrents "stall"

Post by zeomal »

Check the following:

1. Is qBittorrent is blocked by your firewall? If it is, then unblock it. For more information on how to do this, go to http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/Windows-Firewall-from-start-to-finish.
If you use another firewall, check it's support page for more details.

2. Have you tried with Hotspot Shield turned off? If qB works that way, then your VPN could be a problem.

3. AT&T might be throttling your BitTorrent traffic (though the chances for this are very low).

4. As to the part about other tracker not being contacted yet, qB handles trackers relatively well. However, if, for some reason, you want qB to announce itself to all tracker, then you can achieve this via this:
  a. Go to Tools, then Options (or simply press Alt+O).
  b. Click on the Advanced tab.
  c. Scroll to the bottom, and you will find an option Always announce to all trackers.
  d. Enable it. You're done.
greg1296

Post by greg1296 »

Thanks ZeoMal.  I'll give it a try.
greg1296

Post by greg1296 »